WABI 2001

1st Workshop on Algorithms in BioInformatics
BRICS, University of Aarhus, Denmark, August 28-31, 2001

ALGO 2002
September 16-21
Rome ``La Sapienza''
ALGO 2001
-Online Registration (closed)
-Registration fees
-Travel and tourist Information
-Author index
ESA 2001
-Accepted papers
-Call for papers
WAE 2001
-Accepted papers
-Call for papers
WABI 2001
-Accepted papers
-Accepted posters
-Call for papers
-Call for posters
-Accepted papers
-Call for papers
[ Site map ]



The Workshop on Algorithms in Bioinformatics covers research in all aspects of algorithmic work in bioinformatics. The emphasis is on discrete algorithms that address important problems in molecular biology, that are founded on sound models, that are computationally efficient, and that have been implemented and tested in simulations and on real datasets. The goal is to present recent research results, including significant work-in-progress, and to identify and explore directions of future research.

WABI 2001 is sponsored by BRICS and EATCS (the European Association for Theoretical Computer Science) and jointly organized and colocated with ESA 2001 and WAE 2001 in the context of ALGO 2001.


Original research papers (including significant work-in-progress) or state-of-the-art surveys are solicited in all aspects of algorithms in bioinformatics, including, but not limited to:

  • Exact and approximate algorithms for genomics, sequence analysis, gene and signal recognition, alignment, molecular evolution, structure determination or prediction, gene expression and gene networks, proteomics, functional genomics, and drug design.
  • Development of methods, software and dataset repositories for development and testing of such algorithms and their underlying models.
  • High-performance computing approaches to computationally hard problems in bioinformatics, particularly optimization problems.


The proceedings of the workshop will be published by Springer-Verlag in the series Lecture Notes in Computer Science as Volume 2149.

Keynote Speaker

Gene W. Myers, Celera Genomics - Cancelled

Program Committee

Craig Benham (Mt Sinai School of Medicine)
Olivier Gascuel (U. Montpellier, co-chair)
Mikhail Gelfand (Moscow U.)
Raffaele Giancarlo (U. di Palermo)
Michael Hallett (McGill U.)
Jotun Hein (Aarhus U.)
Michael Hendy (Massey U., New Zealand)
Inge Jonassen (Bergen U.)
Junhyong Kim (Yale U.)
Jens Lagergren (KTH Stockholm)
Edward Marcotte (U. Texas Austin)
Satoru Miyano (Tokyo U.)
Bernard M.E. Moret (U. New Mexico, co-chair)
Gene W. Myers (Celera Genomics)
Marie-France Sagot (Institut Pasteur)
David Sankoff (U. Montréal)
Thomas Schiex (INRA Toulouse)
Joao Setubal (UNICAMP, Sao Paolo)
Ron Shamir (Tel Aviv U.)
Martin Vingron (Max Planck Inst. for Molecular Genetics)
Lisa Vawter (GlaxoSmithKline)
Tandy Warnow (U. Texas Austin)

Page maintained by Gerth Stølting Brodal